naïve to cultured

with eyes open wide

Suggested Internet Reading

I am having a Mac crisis. I love Apple computers and could never go back to a Windows operating system, but I can’t believe the bad luck / problems I have had with the MacBook Pro I purchased in Panamá (where I live) a little over 1.5 years ago. A year in, my screen went out. The technician said the cable connecting the logic board to the screen had been corroded because water or condensation had entered. It would cost $1400 (!!!) to fix it, so I opted to buy a monitor instead.

Now my hard drive has taken a turn for the worst. I plugged in a smart phone for charging, as I’ve done in the past, and pow – the computer shuts off and does not turn back on. I researched a quick fix to get the computer to turn on, but after about 10 minutes, it shut off again. Now it only starts up in Safe Mode and doesn’t fully load up before shutting down. Sad sad news.

I am waiting to hear the estimate for replacing the hard drive… fingers crossed it’s not astronomical!

My advice to you is to purchase a MacBook Air! They are much faster and adept for almost all consumers. The MacBook Pro is supposedly meant to be a more powerful computer, but I just found it to be super slow. And this is when only running one program (Safari)!

That’s my lengthy explanation for why my posts have been less lately… but here are some articles I have found recently, which are quite interesting:

Village X: The World’s First Completely Transparent Mobile Giving Experience (Indigogo) – Developed by former Peace Corps volunteers (represent!), this project looks totally legit. Their model is BUY GIVE SEE. You first collect points whenever you shop at socially conscious business partners. You can redeem the points for promotions and discounts (BUY). Once you have redeemed a promotion, you are encouraged to give to worthy causes, since it’s always nice to give back (GIVE). Then you are immediately shown detailed information about the project you just donated to, including pictures and current updates. CLICK ON THE LINK TO DONATE TO THEIR CAMPAIGN TO MAKE THIS APP A REALITY!

What If We Admitted to Children That Sex Is Primarily About Pleasure? (Pacific Standard) – The dreaded sex talk with kids really doesn’t have to be all that bad. Why are adults so uncomfortable about it anyway? I love the author’s take on the issue and her own personal experience with her child.

The NRA’s Murder Mystery (Mother Jones) – This is nuts. The general counsel of the NRA went to jail for 6 years as a teen for killing a woman. His conviction was later thrown out because of a flawed police investigation and Robert Dowlut became a free man. This courageous article does an excellent job laying out the facts. Get to know the man behind the NRA and the 2nd Amendments biggest advocate.

‘Maybe in America’ (NY Times) – Don’t know much about Madagascar beyond the popular DreamWorks animated movies? Thomas Friedman gives us a current view of how one of the poorest countries in the world is barely staying afloat.

Syrian defector testifies, shows House lawmakers graphic images of Assad torture (Fox News) – I cannot BELIEVE I am posting an article from Fox News, but it seems to be completely un-biased (surprisingly). This is a really important article, however, and I really hope it receives big attention. What is STILL happening in Syria is an atrocity and for the rest of the world to continue to believe that it is nothing but a civil war is to deny the unjust deaths of thousands at the hands of the Syrian government.

Knowledge Isn’t Power (NY Times) – Sometimes I really really don’t understand how the US government has been so powerful for so long. Obviously I have absolutely no room to talk since I am only looking at things from afar, but it seems to me that the lawmakers more frequently listen to biased interest groups rather than hear from more unbiased experts. This article from Paul Krugman discusses the outlook in the economy sector, but I really think it could be applied more broadly. What do you think?

The C.I.A.’s Reckless Breach of Trust (NY Times) – Shame shame shame on the CIA! They are caught in their lying act, give a few apologies, and back to business as normal? The New York Times Editorial Board had something to say about that I completely back them up.

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow naïve to cultured on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blast from the Past

Goodreads

