naïve to cultured

with eyes open wide

Suggested Internet Reading

View through the trees on a cloudy day.

View through the trees on a cloudy day.

Summer is in full swing where I live and work! But it has a totally different meaning here than in the U.S. The weather is actually rainy season and with the rain comes the cold. But what sets July apart from the rest of the rainy season are the TOURISTS! Tons of them all on summer break. 🙂

Sorry, LOTS of NY Times articles in this go ’round. I’ve had a lot of catching up to do! Enjoy!

The Corporate Daddy: Walmart, Starbucks, and the Fight Against Inequality (NY Times) – I am 10000000% behind this article by Timothy Egan. He hits the nail on the head talking about gross inequality and how it’s an effect of BAD BUSINESSES more than government policies.

I Crashed a Wall Street Secret Society (NY Mag) – This article is from February but I’m just seeing it now. THIS F*ING BLEW MY MIND. Not because it’s happening (duh, fraternities aren’t only for college) but because NO ONE SEEMS TO GIVE A FUCK about what Kevin Roose uncovered. But hey, that’s our society now. Maybe I’ll get over it when I’m dead.

What’s Lost as Handwriting Fades (NY Times) – This article seems kinda boring, kinda useless. But I think it’s actually really really important. I am on the computer an average of 12 hours/day 6 days/week. THAT IS INSANE. I don’t care if “technology is taking over”. Using our hands and feet and bodies and eyes and noses and ears to CREATE is still important. Don’t let computers kill art!

Beliefs, Facts and Money: Conservative Delusions About Inflation (NY Times) – Paul Krugman hits home with me in his article about how our beliefs usually trump fact and real historical evidence.  As he concludes, “When faith — including faith-based economics — meets evidence, evidence doesn’t stand a chance.”

The ‘Busy’ Trap (NY Times) – I think this article has been circulating around. I ignored it the first time because I always roll my eyes at titles like this. But then I came around and decided to give it a read. It’s actually really good and I love Tim Kreider’s viewpoint, since he’s one of the ones who is rarely busy (intentionally). I have my own struggle with busyness and can only attribute it to my childhood, I guess. I wish I could be a person who just didn’t give a shit and did whatever the hell I wanted to. Maybe one day…..

In Myanmar, the Euphoria of Reform Loses Its Glow (NY Times) – Myanmar has been a hot topic lately and not for good reason. This article by Thomas Fuller does a great job breaking down the past few years and the changes we are currently seeing that will affect the future of Myanmar. It’s serious, people. Stay tuned.

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow naïve to cultured on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blast from the Past

Goodreads

