naïve to cultured

with eyes open wide

Check this out: How to Get Girls Into Coding

This topic has been HUGE lately and I definitely think it is a super important initiative. But these articles in particular (links below) talk about how we can best attract girls to feel comfortable with computers and coding. Answer (spoiler alert): video games and camps/mentoring.

I LOVED video games as a kid and loved to battle against my brother and his friends. Not many of my friends were as into computers as I was, but I’m thankful that my parents gave me the freedom and flexibility to play computer and video games in my free time. I know it contributed to my comfort level with computers, software and even coding.

Now if games could only be crafted in such a way to promote learning and fun, then we would be onto something! Progress is being made here, but there is still a long way to go.

How to Get Girls Into Coding – NYTimes.com

http://time.com/2901899/google-made-with-code-girls-in-tech/

What's your opinion?

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2014 by in Women and Children's Rights and tagged .
Follow on Bloglovin
Follow naïve to cultured on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blast from the Past

Goodreads

